top of page

Best Ever Tortillas


Along with trying to perfect my mexican rice, I've also had a lot of trouble over the years making perfect tortillas from scratch. Usually they'll come out tasting great, but once they cool, they get hard and break. Nothing is more frustrating than being in the middle of a wonderful fajita taco and the tortilla rips in half and your taco basically explodes! Finally, after years of trial and error, I have perfected my tortillas! They stay soft, they heat up easily, storable and delicious!! 3 cups flour 1 Tablespoon salt 1 teaspoon baking powder 1/3 vegetable or canola oil 1 cup warm water Combine all the dry stuff and mix well. Add the oil and hot water. Mix well. Roll into balls about the size of golf balls and then flatten with your hand. Cover with a damp towel and let rest for 15 minutes. Heat a comal or flat pan up during the last 5 min to be ready to cook on. After 15 minutes, roll each flattened dough ball out on a lightly floured surface until about as thin as a regular tortilla. Place a tortilla on the comal or flat pan, flipping once whenever you start to see a few bubbles appear. Watch the comal carefully, it's very easy to burn them in just a few seconds. you only need to flip the tortillas ONCE! If you flip more, they'll start to get tough. I like to keep my tortillas warm in the middle of a folded towel until ready to serve since it prevents them from getting soggy.

To store, I just throw them in a large ziplock, and they'll stay soft for a few days!


About Me

I'm a Texas gal with a wonderful husband, an amazing six year old son, and I'm expecting my second lil' boy in May! My blog is about cooking, parenting, giveaways, DIY, books and the great outdoors! 
​This is a PR-friendly blog!!

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page