top of page

Book Reviews - The Real Story (Gap series)


About the Book:

Author of The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, one of the most acclaimed fantasy series of all time, master storyteller Stephen R. Donaldson returns with this exciting and long-awaited new series that takes us into a stunningly imagined future to tell a timeless story of adventure and the implacable conflict of good and evil within each of us. Angus Thermopyle was an ore pirate and a murderer; even the most disreputable asteroid pilots of Delta Sector stayed locked out of his way. Those who didn't ended up in the lockup--or dead. But when Thermopyle arrived at Mallory's Bar & Sleep with a gorgeous woman by his side the regulars had to take notice. Her name was Morn Hyland, and she had been a police officer--until she met up with Thermopyle. But one person in Mallory's Bar wasn't intimidated. Nick Succorso had his own reputation as a bold pirate and he had a sleek frigate fitted for deep space. Everyone knew that Thermopyle and Succorso were on a collision course. What nobody expected was how quickly it would be over--or how devastating victory would be. It was common enough example of rivalry and revenge--or so everyone thought. The REAL story was something entirely different. In The Real Story, Stephen R. Donaldson takes us to a remarkably detailed world of faster-than-light travel, politics, betrayal, and a shadowy presence just outside our view to tell the fiercest, most profound story he has ever written.

MY THOUGHTS:

I've actually had this series in my shelves for a while, just never got around to reading it until the other night. I actually found it very absorbing and almost finished the book in one night of reading! The language is a little foul, and it has a mind-control/rape theme going on, but compared to some of the other books I'm reading today, I found it pretty mild. The storyline was pretty engrossing and it was definitely hard for me to put down! I found the book very original, and I couldn't wait to dive into the second book as soon as I finished this one!

About Me

I'm a Texas gal with a wonderful husband, an amazing six year old son, and I'm expecting my second lil' boy in May! My blog is about cooking, parenting, giveaways, DIY, books and the great outdoors! 
​This is a PR-friendly blog!!

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page