top of page

Mom's Best Banana Bread!


This is my mom's banana bread recipe! I grew up on this recipe ,and it is scrumptiously delicious! My six year old son is very picky, and last time I made this, he ate half a loaf all by himself! It's very simple, and just oh so delicious!

Makes 2 loaves

1 1/2 cups Sugar

1/2 cup shortening

2 eggs

1/2 tsp Salt

1 tsp Baking Soda

2 cups Flour

1/4 cup Buttermilk (or mix regular milk and 1 tsp vinegar, let sit for 5 min)

3 mashed bananas

1 tsp Vanilla

1 cup chopped nuts (I like pecans)

Cream the sugar and shortening together. Add eggs and salt. Beat until light and fluffy. Stir the baking soda into the milk until it starts frothing. Add flour and milk alternately to shortening mix and beat well. Add mashed bananas, vanilla and nuts and mix well.

Bake in 2 greased and floured 9"x 5"x 3" pans at 350 degrees for about one hour or until middle is set. Let cool and flip out of pans. Slice and enjoy!!

Keeps very well in a ziplock for a long time, and lasts even longer if you put it in the fridge!

Watch out though, it's not going to last long in your house!


About Me

I'm a Texas gal with a wonderful husband, an amazing six year old son, and I'm expecting my second lil' boy in May! My blog is about cooking, parenting, giveaways, DIY, books and the great outdoors! 
​This is a PR-friendly blog!!

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page